By davide ragusa

How *Not* to Title Your Blog Post

Writing and Blogging

So many times when I begin to sit down and write a blog post I get stuck on what the name of the post will be.  I’ve not even written a word yet and I’m already trying to nail down the “big picture” point.

I’ve not even written a word yet and I’m already trying to nail down the "big picture" point.

I cannot stress this enough to all you writers and bloggers out there. The best titles are always the one’s procured during or after writing a piece.  This is another golden rule in writing and one we are all familiar with, being the theory behind the perfect title is one taken from within the work of art. For instance in movie titles, you’ll notice that they always say the title somewhere in the movie. (In certain movies this can be very humorous and curious for when the movie title line will be used).

However as I sat to pen a blog post this morning I noticed I was making this very mistake.  I spent so much time trying to figure out what I was going to call my brilliant idea that I came down with writers block and forgot it.

So just as a reminder, which we all need now and again, when you sit down to write, do just that.  Don’t wait for the title or punch line to come to you.  It will appear almost magically as your thoughts form and your message develops.

“Writing about a writer’s block is better than not writing at all”
Charles Bukowski

11 thoughts on “How *Not* to Title Your Blog Post

  1. Yes! I completely agree. I always try to come up with the title before I start writing. After an hour of coming up with nothing, I decide to just write and magically a title pops in my mind.

  2. You’re absolutely right Kristine! Most times I ponder too long on the title before writing. The ‘Aha’ moment always comes at some point throughout the piece, so its best to save the best(title) for last.

  3. Interestingly, this makes me think about life in general! (I love analogies to help explain things, so this got the wheels in my head turning.) Often we wait for an epiphany on what our next steps will be…maybe written in the sky or spelled out in our cereal bowl…when in fact, we just need to apply a little faith, step out with what we have, and trust that things will make more sense as we go on.

    1. Great comment and thought! That’s definitely a great reminder – “we just need to apply a little faith, step out with what we have, and trust that things will make more sense as we go on.” Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

